Friday, November 03, 2006

Lucky 13th AGONG-Sultan of Terengganu, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Mahmud Al-Muktafi Billah Shah; EFFECTIVE on Lucky 13th Dec 06

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 3 (Bernama) -- The Sultan of Terengganu, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Mahmud Al-Muktafi Billah Shah, has been elected the 13th Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a five-year term effective Dec 13. Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said in a statement that Sultan Mizan's appointment, succeeding the present Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Syed Putra Jamalullail, was announced by the Conference of Rulers at its special meeting at Istana Negara Friday. The 208th meeting also agreed to proclaim the Sultan of Kedah, Tuanku Alhaj Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Badlishah, as the Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong, also for a five-year term, with effect from Dec 13.

Left to Right: Sultan Trengganu, Sultan Kelantan and Raja Perlis

Abdullah said the Conference of Rulers chaired by the Yang di-Pertuan Besaregri Sembilan was attended by all the Rulers except for the Sultan of Pahang and Sultan of Johor. Sultan Mizan, who was born on Jan 22, 1962 at Istana Al-Muktafi, Kuala Terengganu is currently the Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong. He was first appointed Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong on April 26, 1999 when the Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah, was the 11th Yang di-Pertuan Agong. The second time he was appointed Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong was on Dec 12, 2001 following the death of Sultan Salahuddin on Nov 21, that year.

Left to Right: Yang Di-Pertua Besar, Negeri Sembilan, Sultan Kedah & Sultan Perak

As for the Sultan of Kedah, he was the 5th Yang di-Pertuan Agong from Jan 12, 1970 to Sept 20, 1975. Since Independence, all the Malay Rulers from the nine states in the peninsula have had the opportunity to be elected as Yang di-Pertuan Agong, with the Yang di-Pertuan Besar of Negri Sembilan, Almarhum Tuanku Abdul Rahman ibni Almarhum Tuanku Muhammad, elected as the first Yang di-Pertuan Agong from Aug 3, 1957 to April 1, 1960. This was followed by the Sultan of Selangor Almarhum Tuanku Hishamuddin Alam Shah Alhaj who died several hours before being installed as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Sept 1, 1960. The third Yang di-Pertuan Agong was the Raja of Perlis Almarhum Tuanku Syed Putra Ibni Almarhum Syed Hassan Jamalullail, the father of the present Yang di-Pertuan Agong. This was followed by the Sultan of Terengganu Almarhum Tuanku Ismail Nasiruddin Shah (the grandfather of Sultan Mizan), Sultan of Kedah, Sultan of Kelantan Almarhum Tuanku Yahya Petra ibni Almarhum Sultan Ibrahim (the father of the present Sultan), and Sultan of Pahang Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Abu Bakar. Sultan of Johor Tuanku Mahmood Iskandar Al-Haj was followed by the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Muhibuddin Shah, Yang Di-Pertuan Besar Negri Sembilan Tuanku Jaafar Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Abdul Rahman and the Sultan of Selangor, Almarhum Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah (the father of the present Sultan of Selangor).

Left to Right: Sultan Kedah, Sultan Perak & Sultan Selangor

The Raja of Perlis, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Syed Putra Jamalullail who was elected the 12th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Dec 13, 2001 will end his term on Dec 12.

The magnificient 7 who attended the 208th Conference of Rulers at its special meeting at Istana Negara with apologies from for the Sultan of Pahang and Sultan of Johor - unable to attend


Post a Comment

<< Home

Get complete protection against viruses, worms and Trojan horse programs – CA Anti-Virus 2008! Click here for cheap hotels
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from Multidimid. Make your own badge here.
Blogroll Me!

Your email address:

Powered by FeedBlitz

Add to Google Add to Google